Open Source

By providing our software as an open source solution, we give our users the security that all the calculations and procedures are made transparent. This doesn’t mean that your data can be seen by other users, however. The visibility of data is safeguarded by encryption methods integrated in HELIUM V or on the database servers.

In our open source version you can read how the data is encrypted. You can’t do that in so-called closed source systems, and so you have to rely on the claims made by the respective manufacturer.

ERP System

Opensource_loesungHELIUM V is a universal ERP solution for managing all corporate organisational processes.

Key facts

Opensource_datenAn important aspect of deploying an open source system is that the development enviroment has to be made available as open source as well.

Community

Opensource_portalHere you will find a catalogue of questions and answers from the community on using HELIUM V.

Why choose open source?

Open source doesn’t mean that the system itself or operating it is free. Particularly in the case of extensive and powerful systems, the key success factor isn’t how many licences are purchased, but the operation, support, provision of add-ons, etc.

In open systems, lots of people and institutions (e.g. universities) can participate on the project and thus contribute to creating innovative solutions. At the same time, the manufacturer supporting this open source community guarantees that the primary product is continually developed in the required quality. Last but not least, this completely eliminates all demands for disclosure of the source code, ESCrow requirements and so on. This is a decisive factor, especially for smaller software providers.

Another important reason for making products open source is to gain the trust of customers in the software manufacturer. In many sectors of the software industry it is common practice to attempt to gag customers by binding them with lifelong contracts. Our conception of a customer-manufacturer relationship is one of equal partners. And that’s why we have been making HELIUM V, our comprehensive ERP system, available under the AGPL open source licence since September 2010.

Open Source

Durch die zur Verfügungstellung als Open Source geben wir unseren Anwendern die Sicherheit, dass alle Berechnungen bzw. Verfahren offengelegt sind. Das bedeutet jedoch nicht, dass damit Ihre Daten für andere sichtbar sind. Die Sichtbarkeit der Daten wird durch – in HELIUM V bzw. Datenbankservern integrierte – Verschlüsselungsverfahren gewährleistet.

In unserer Open Source Version kann nachgelesen werden, wie die Daten verschlüsselt werden. In sogenannten Closed Source Systemen können Sie diese Überprüfung nicht durchführen und sind somit auf die Aussage des jeweiligen Herstellers angewiesen.

ERP Software

Opensource_loesungHELIUM V ist eine durchgängige ERP Lösung für die Abwicklung aller organisatorischen Prozesse im Unternehmen.

Eckdaten

Opensource_datenEin wichtiger Punkt für den Einsatz eines Open Source Systems ist, dass auch die Entwicklungsumgebung als OpenSource zur Verfügung steht.

Community

Opensource_portalHier finden Sie eine Sammlung der Fragen und Antworten zur Nutzung von HELIUM V aus der Community.

Warum Open Source?

Open Source bedeutet nicht, dass das System / der Betrieb des Systems kostenlos ist. Gerade bei umfassenden Systemen, ist nicht der Lizenzerwerb sondern der Betrieb, die Betreuung, das Einbringen von Erweiterungen usw. der wesentliche Erfolgsfaktor.

In offenen Systemen können sich viele Personen und Institutionen (z.B. Universitäten) an dem Projekt beteiligen und so immer wieder innovative Lösungen einbringen. Zugleich ist durch den Hersteller, der diese Open Source Community unterstützt, gewährleistet, dass das Stammprodukt in der geforderten Qualität kontinuierlich weiterwächst. Nicht zuletzt werden damit alle Forderungen nach Offenlegung des Sourcecodes, ESCrow und ähnlichem komplett erfüllt. Gerade für die kleineren Softwareanbieter ist dies ein entscheidender Faktor.

Ein weitere wesentlicher Grund sein Produkt OpenSource zu stellen ist das Vertrauen der Kunden in den Softwarehersteller zu gewinnen. Derzeit ist es in der Softwarebranche in weiten Bereichen so, dass versucht wird die Kunden zu knebeln, sie mit Verträgen ein Leben lang an sich zu binden. Unsere Vorstellung einer Kunden / Hersteller Beziehung ist eine unter gleichberechtigten Partnern. Daher haben wir seit September 2010 unser umfassendes ERP System HELIUM V unter der AGPL Lizenz Open Source gestellt.